Regrets

Today’s PAD prompt was “regrets”. Robert suggested a persona poem, so I attempted to put myself in someone else’s shoes.

pinkk

Regrets

the girl wearing pink sparkle flip flops
in Wal-Mart
she must be about seven
yes, seven
she has my freckles
and light brown eyes
it could be her
I start to speak
reach out to touch her hair
her mother turns, startled
her mother with freckles
and light brown eyes
I dip my head
to hide the tears
busy my hands choosing detergent
she’s not the one
the one I gave away

3 thoughts on “Regrets

Leave a Reply

