Words

colorful-peacock-feathers-picjumbo-com

picjumbo

“…that’ll be about as profitable as trying to pick feathers out of molasses.” – Madame Manec  – All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr

light

We southerners have our quaint sayings for sure, Stuff about having a hissy fit or being in high cotton or fixin’ to do something.

pic-from-the-movie-db

pic – the movie db

But, I digress. Back to the quote above. I just love it. It reminds me of O’ Brother Where Art Thou? where the language was a big part of the charm of the movie. Especially the words of Ulysses Everett McGill, such as, “Say, any of you boys smithies? Or, if not smithies per se, were you otherwise trained in the metallurgic arts before straitened circumstances forced you into a life of aimless wanderin’?” or “Well, ain’t this place a geographical oddity. Two weeks from everywhere!” Then there is the oft quoted line that my family has taken to use on numerous occasions – “You two are just dumber than a bag of hammers!”

I guess I’ll always love words and wordplay. Maybe that’s why I play Words with Friends on my phone and I love the hashtag games on Twitter.

Just remember, our words are like those feathers. Once spoken, taking them back is like trying to pick them out of molasses.

Leave a Reply

