Brief Thoughts on Memorial Day

tomb

Ben

Memorial Day is a federal holiday in the United States for remembering the people who died while serving in the country’s armed forces.

I have not personally known anyone who died while serving in the armed forces. I can remember being sad but not really understanding when my cousin Johnny went off to Vietnam. But, he made it through.

My son served in the Army for five years. I was apprehensive when he left for boot camp and I couldn’t talk to him for weeks. I was relieved when he was stationed at Arlington Cemetery in DC. Then, fear struck on 9/11 when the Pentagon was hit and we could not get in touch with him for hours. But, like my cousin Johnny, he made it through.

I respect those young people who join the service out of a real desire to serve and fight for freedom, But I find it very hard to respect what our military has become. I am by no means politically savvy and I am not a history scholar. I am ashamed at my lack of knowledge of my country’s past and also my lack of understanding of current world events.

Yet, on this Memorial Day I respect and honor those who have gone out in sincerity to serve our country. I pray for the families who have experienced the loss of a loved one – I pray that Memorial Day will be a time of comfort for them.

Leave a Reply

