U is for Untitled, Which This Isn’t

 

I’ve loved ABC books and A-Z lists for quite a while. This post is one in a series on writing, with the subtopic of poetry.

In looking for something a little UNUSUAL for the letter U, I thought about un’ words.

But first, my thoughts as related to writing. Don’t make your fiction UNREAL. It needs to be believable if you want to keep your readers. I’ve read my share of UNREALISTIC stories written by fourth graders, believe me!

Your story should be previously UNTOLD. It should be a little different than similar stories out there. Give it a little twist. Write the UNEXPECTED.

While I’m on this topic, I’ll mention an un-word that has been overused lately in places where I’ve worked or listened to speakers. That’s the word UNPACK. It’s used when people are referring to analyzing a situation or concept. It drives me nuts. Just sayin’.

I’ll close with a good un-word, and that’s UNWIND. Writing helps me unwind at the end of the day. It is something I love, and that’s not UNTRUE.

I could not find any poetry form for U, so I decided to write a sestina using U words. I hope it makes sense. Enjoy!

ID-100187156

Photo by noppasinw.

Us

Under a wondrous love umbrella

Mine, one of a kind, uplifted

No stretchers unbroken

Surely you can understand

It is the ultimate

The sky and I in union

 

You and I, too, in union

We share the same umbrella

Exclusive and ultimate

Our love uplifts

There is so much you understand

Our love is unbroken

 

Under a wing unbroken

We fly in perfect union

Full of understanding

Under my umbrella

Love will uplift

Love is ultimate

 

Only and ultimate

A song unbroken

Notes that uplift 

Join together in union

A melody under my umbrella

Music I understand

 

Because you always understand

Our adventure is the ultimate

Covered by a big umbrella

Covered by a love unbroken

Covered by our union

Ours alone, unique

 

Our life is unique

More and more I understand

All is a perfect union

A design that is ultimate

A promise unbroken

A protective umbrella

 

A life unique and ultimate

We understand, our love is unbroken

Glad for the union, glad for the umbrella

Leave a Reply

