Two for T

I’ve loved ABC books and A-Z lists for quite a while. This post is one in a series on writing.

T is for Thesaurus

ID-100303174

art by Stuart Miles

I must admit, I use a thesaurus. A lot. Some writers may think it’s a cop-out, or that it shows you don’t really know your stuff. I don’t look at it that way. It helps me when I’m proofreading and I’ve already used a word because it keeps me from using the same word over and over. In this way I also learn new words, which is a good thing.

I use a thesaurus often when I am editing my poetry. I think poetry is all about “using the best words in the best order.” Why use green when emerald or olive is better? Why say fast when hasty gives even more meaning?

Take Time

“So much of writing is mere contemplation, and it took me a few years to find validity in this idea. One day I’d write 12 pages and the next I’d sit around and think and eke out one paragraph, and it took me a while to realize that was a legitimate use of time.” – Daniel Handler AKA Lemony Snicket, author of the A SERIES OF UNFORTUNATE EVENTS books.

This is advice I need to take to heart. I’m always putting deadlines on myself, and I’m missing out on the contemplation part, which could make my writing better. I’m also missing out on reading, which is also what makes for a better writer.

So today, have fun (a pleasurable time) with your words (terminology). Make good (superior) choices (selections). Enjoy (take pleasure in) writing (scripting) and others will enjoy (benefit from) reading your work (composition).

Leave a Reply

