Gleanings From Other Writers #1

 

ew

In talking about a music box at her grandparents’ house, Eudora Welty compares the sound  to spoons in such a way that I could fully sense what she meant.

 

“….rather as if the spoons in the spoon holder started a quiet fretting among themselves.” ~ from One Writer’s Beginnings

This is a fantastic combination of simile and personification. After (as an adult) I read The Indian in the Cupboard, I thought  often about things in cabinets as having a personality. Maybe I should not admit to this childish working of my mind. Maybe I should funnel this imagination into a picture book.

2 thoughts on “Gleanings From Other Writers #1

  1. Pingback: Gleanings from Other Writers #2 | Not In This Soup Alone

Leave a Reply

