Humor in Poetry

I’ve loved ABC books and A-Z lists for quite a while. This is one in a series on writing, with the subtopic of poetry. Today’s installment is just a little fun poetry.

I was going to do H is for Haiku, but I’m going with H is for humor. Some of my favorite humorous poets are Jack Prelustky, Dr. Seuss, and Ogden Nash. .

Here’s my poem:

Ambro2

The Office

I got the notice in my inbox

The boss wants to see me

Dread engulfs me

Was it something he overheard?

Did I not get the forms in on time?

Has he seen that I was late twice last week?

Or

Perhaps He noticed how many files I completed

Or he heard how I helped Fred with his caseload

And chaired the canned food drive

Stomach is in a knot

Anticipation Expectation Trepidation

The long walk to the office door

Deep breaths

Knock and enter

Baseball

He heard my cousin could get discount tickets

He wants two

Sigh of relief

Then disappointment 

Neither hot nor cold

It’s a lukewarm conversation

Nothing to talk about at lunch

Again

Leave a Reply

