He Is Nearer Than Our Own Soul,

...Of how much more value are you than the birds?  Luke 12:24

…Of how much more value are you than the birds? Luke 12:24

Sometimes I get despondent and it seems I am alone. I know in my heart that I’m not, but I forget that God is my Father, and a Father that cares more for me than I’ll ever know.

My dad had a hard time expressing himself. He grew up without a father as his dad died when he was only four years old. He had no role model to show him the way to express love to his children. I think I was a young adult before I ever heard him say, “I love you.”  I knew he loved me, but it was music to hear him say it. Yet, the older and mellower he got, he began to loosen up and I heard those words more often.

I am thankful for all the years I had with him. And I’m thankful God is near me, even when I can’t “feel” Him.

“We need never shout across empty spaces to an absent God. He is nearer than our own soul, closer than our most secret thoughts.”- A.W. Tozer

3 thoughts on “He Is Nearer Than Our Own Soul,

  1. Pingback: Are You Listening? | Catching a Vision by Viv

Leave a Reply

