Confidence and Clerihews

freedigitalphotos.net

freedigitalphotos.net

I’ve loved ABC books and A-Z lists for quite a while. As a teacher I’ve used the A-Z idea for brainstorming new topics, for studying, and for writing. This  post is one in a series on writing, with the subtopic of poetry.

C is for Confidence

“Believe in yourself and your writing. No one else will if you won’t.” – Jenny Gardiner, author of seven books.

I need more confidence in my writing. I also need more confidence when going out to interview and/or photograph for an article. I know I’ve written some good magazine articles, but I also know some of them could have been a whole lot better. The same with my photos. What has given me  me hope in the past  is a publisher I worked with for over a year. She liked my stuff. Granted, it was a small publication, but it was a very good start for me. I’ve even had one photo used on the cover, which was unexpected and thrilling.

Once I interviewed a contractor/design team, a husband and wife, for an issue which focused on real estate. I had the publisher meet with us, also, because I thought they might buy an ad and that’s not my field of expertise. They took us to a home that I was going to feature in the article. It was a 6.5 million–dollar home. Absolutely fabulous! I got some great pictures and wrote the article. I was excited to see this one in the magazine, but in the end the homeowner pulled the plug and we couldn’t publish the article. Talk about disappointment! Even so, I learned a lot and gained confidence in my writing and photography skills

C is also for clerihew, a comic verse made of two couplets and a precise rhyming scheme, aabb invented by Edmund Clerihew Bentley (1875-1956) at the age of 16. The poem is about a person/character. In most cases, the first line names a person, and the second line ends with something that rhymes with the name of the person.

One of the most remembered Clerihew from Bentley’s collection is:

Sir Humphrey Davy

Abominated gravy.

He lived in the odium

Of having discovered sodium.

Here is my attempt:

The man Vincent Van Gogh

Painted The Scream, oh no!

First a preacher, then an artist became

The art world would never be the same.

Leave a Reply

