Always Alliteration

aa

I’ve loved ABC books and A-Z lists for quite a while. As a teacher I’ve used the A-Z idea for brainstorming new topics, for studying, and for writing. So, this A-Z list is going to be on writing, with the subtopic of poetry.

A is for always. Always have a pen or pencil and paper handy. I keep a notebook in my purse at all times. I use it to take notes in church, to take notes when I’m on the phone, to doodle, to write down ideas, to write questions in preparation for an interview, or to make lists. I also keep a notepad in my car and keep a running “To Do” list at home. Sometimes I also use the pad in my car to write down funny or stupid signs I see along my route, or to jot down song lyrics or things I want to remember. So, always be prepared, even if it’s a scrap of paper you keep in your pocket. ( I do that, too!)

A is also for alliteration. Alliterations are sentences or phrases that contain words that repeat the same beginning consonant sounds. The initial sounds of a word, beginning either with a consonant or a vowel, are repeated in close succession.

February

February blows blustery and cold

Sun and snow together

Makes for great soup weather

Flowers fancy blooming

As they stir under snow drifts

Waiting and wanting to be free

Written February, 2014

One thought on “Always Alliteration

  1. Pingback: Zap, Zooey & ZaniLa | Not In This Soup Alone

Leave a Reply

