My “Collected Home”

After reading a blog post about a “Collected Home”, which you can read HERE, I decided to write one of my own. Downsizing to a smaller home has meant letting go of some “stuff” and it has not been easy. I’m sure much of that has to do with the fact that I have a “collected Home”, one full of memories and family treasures. So, I want to share some of them.

IMG_1611

This is something I made in college when my husband and I were dating. As you can see, it was long before the days of home computers. If you look closely, you can see that in each line I changed one letter so that it went from my full name to his full name. Cool, huh?

IMG_1617

This is my mother’s old Lane “Hope Chest”. It was in our garage as I was growing up, probably because a dog we had once chewed up a few corners. After we moved I painted it red using the Annie Sloan Chalk paint. Can’t wait for my mom to see it!

IMG_1618
My husband’s grandfather thought the lady on this clock resembled his wife, so he bought it for her many years ago. They are both gone now, but I am thankful we ended up with the clock.

IMG_1619
Yes, this is a bowl of dice. I used dice a lot in the classroom when I was a teacher, so I accumulated quite a bunch. The bowl was made by my son in pottery class in high school. He thinks it’s no good, but I love it because he made it!

IMG_1626

Growing up we had a lovely mahogany dining room table and set of chairs. I spent many afternoons on my hands and knees dusting the rungs as a kid. When my mom moved the last time she had no space for it and neither I nor my brothers did, either. So, I got one chair to keep and last year I recovered the seat.

I will do another post later with more memories from my “Collected Home”.

Leave a Reply

