Throwback Thursday – My First Alabama Experience

Image

Here I am looking up to my big brother. This picture was taken in Montgomery, Alabama about 1963. We only lived in this house for a very short time and I have very few memories from that time. I remember walking up a hill to a neighborhood pool. I remember falling down. I also, for some unknown reason, associate the Praying Mantis, or walking stick bug, with the day I fell. And I remember my first kiss. I was playing hide-n-go-seek with my brother and a few of his friends. I came up behind one of them, I think his name was Greg, and kissed him on the elbow.

That’s about it. I sure wish I could remember more. I have stories from my mom, and I can picture them in my head, but they aren’t my memories.

I have so many photographs that bring back so many good memories. But, some bring back sad remembrances as well. Which is how it should be.

I guess I need to have a sit-down with the big brother and pick his brains for HIS memories of Montgomery.

Leave a Reply

