Throwback Thursday – Super Duper

Image

Is it bird? Is it a plane? No, it’s Superman. Or, SuperMEN to be exact.  The photo on the left is my son, Ben, in 1982 when he was two years old. On the right is HIS son, Everett, taken this month at the age of four.

Today there are so many “Super Heroes” out there that I don’t even know what most of their “powers” are. I know Superman can leap tall buildings in a single bound, and Spiderman has clever spider abilities, and the Hulk is a massive green machine. Ever dreamed of having a super power? This isn’t a super power, but I’d like the ability to time travel.

Many of these Super Heroes have sidekicks. Superman has Jimmy Olsen, Batman has Robin, and Spidey now has Alpha. Some also have a love interest, such as Lois Lane and Mary Jane and Betty Ross (I had to look that one up!)

Imagination, super powers, “let’s pretend” – these are timeless, magical things.  But, even better, is a marvelous, timeless, delightful marriage. I know you are wondering how I pulled that out of my hat, huh? Well, this IS a blog, so I think I have a little liberty. *

My son has a love interest and sidekick all rolled into one in his wife, Claire. And that’s how I view my marriage, too. As a team. Sure, we could use some super WILLPower, but all in all we don’t need to be faster than a speeding bullet or more powerful than a locomotive. We need to learn to lean on the source of all power, the Lord Jesus Christ.

 

God is my strength and power, And He makes my way perfect. – II Samuel 22:33

 

He gives power to the weak, And to those who have no might He increases strength. – Isaiah 40:29

 

But that you may know that the Son of Man has power on earth to forgive sins”—He said to the man who was paralyzed, “I say to you, arise, take up your bed, and go to your house.” – Luke 5:24

 

*A blog is a portmanteau – for a web log.

 

 

Leave a Reply

