Jumping on the Duck Dynasty Bandwagon

ducks

I have never watched Duck Dynasty, but I am familiar with it. I have tried to stay away from all the commentary out there but it keeps popping up on my Facebook feed. So, here’s my two cents.

I think Phil Robertson has a right to his opinion. I also think he missed a great opportunity to be a witness for Christ when asked, “What, in your mind, is sinful??

He responded, “Start with homosexual behavior and just morph out from there — bestiality, sleeping around with this woman and that woman and that woman and those men.”

Sin is the breaking of God’s law. The Westminster Catechism says, “Sin is any want of conformity unto, or transgression of, the law of God.”

In the place of focusing in on a few particular sins, he could have given a biblical definition.  Instead, he chose a few sins that HE obviously does not participate in. He became like the Pharisee.

The Pharisee stood and prayed thus with himself, God, I thank thee, that I am not as other men are, extortioners, unjust, adulterers, or even as this publican. – Luke 18:11

Worse yet, the crudeness of his answer was offensive to me (see link below if you want to read more of what he said), even though I believe what God’s word has to say on the subject. I did not see mercy, kindness or humility in his answer.

Therefore, as the elect of God, holy and beloved, put on tender mercies, kindness, humility, meekness, longsuffering; – Colossians 3:12

http://fox2now.com/2013/12/18/duck-dynasty-star-suspended-for-anti-gay-remarks/

Leave a Reply

