On the roof, in the treetops, or down by the ocean

Image

“Up on the Roof” is a song written by Gerry Goffin and Carole King and recorded in 1962 by The Drifters. I first heard this song when it was sung by Carole King and I just love it.

You can read all the lyrics here: www.oldielyrics.com/lyrics/the_drifters/up_on_the_roof.html , but basically it talks about going up on the roof to get away from things when you are feeling down. Now, I don’t have the kind of roof to climb up on, but there are other places to get away from the crowd.

When I was a very young teen I would sit out on our little front porch with my dog and cry into her fur. She was a good listener. As an adult I would often leave the house at night to go for a walk, taking yet another dog with me for protection and company.

The beach is another place I can go to gain some perspective. Like being up on the roof, except I’m on the sand by the ocean’s roar.

Some of the lyrics of the song say:

“On the roof, it’s peaceful as can be
And there the world below can’t bother me”

Do you have a roof, or tree, or beach, or other place where you can shake off the cares of the world for a few minutes? I hope you do.

Leave a Reply

