Thoughts on the Words of C.S. Lewis – Your Life’s Work

Image

C.S. Lewis was a novelist, poet, academic, literary critic, essayist, lay theologian, and Christian apologist. He is probably best known as the author of The Chronicles of Narnia, but he wrote numerous other works, including “The Problem of Pain” from where the quotes in this series were taken.

When we want to be something other than the thing God wants us to be, we must be wanting what, in fact, will not make us happy.

 This has made me pause to wonder.  When I am unhappy in my life’s work, is it just circumstantial and temporary? Or is it because I am not doing what I should be doing?

I think this thing God wants us to be can change over time. I think at one time God wanted me to teach. But there came a point where it seemed to cause nothing but heartache for me. Yet, I kept going back for more. I THINK I see now that that door is closed. That chapter is over.

I love writing and right now it’s making me happy. That is no guarantee it’s what I should be doing. There are a LOT of things one could say makes them happy, but that doesn’t mean they should be doing them.

All I know to do now is take it to the Lord daily and ask Him to guide me every day.

What about you? Do you feel you are where you’re supposed to be? 

 

Leave a Reply

