Throwback Thursday – Friendship

Image

This is a picture of me on the left and my friend Robin on the right, taken in Daytona during our college years.

We met in eighth grade. Well, actually we had been in Brownies together in second grade, but our memories just didn’t go back that far. I only know because my mom was the troop leader and I have a photo somewhere.

We were close through high school, even though we went to different schools then. We decided to go to the same college, but weren’t roommates. I joined a sorority and Robin joined the next semester. She stayed there, at Georgia Southern, and graduated. I completed two years, and then got married.  We were in each other’s weddings, she marrying her high school sweetheart, me my college sweetheart.

We drifted apart after marriage, but stayed in touch with a few cards and calls. I’m ashamed to say I’ve only seen her twice since I moved back to Jacksonville in 2005. But, it’s this second time, this past August, that I’m thinking of. Because that time it was at her father’s funeral. It brought back so many memories.

I went on several trips with her family, including a vacation in the mountains and an Auburn football game. The deal was we had to help take care of her brothers some of the time. Piece of cake, really, for all the fun we had.

But, my best memory that day was of her dad being my boss during my senior year of high school. Then, at the end of the year, since I was in DECA, he came with me to the employer/employee banquet. Two things stand out. One is that  I had to give the invocation before we ate. I was so nervous. The other was sitting at the head table since I was an officer. We were served friend chicken and I was trying to figure out how to eat it with a fork. Her dad leaned over and whispered, “Just pick it up with your fingers – I am, ” and he did!

He was 80 years old and was still a bailiff at the courthouse until two weeks before he died. He was a good family man. I remember he had a sense of humor like my own dad’s.

I’m glad I was able to attend his funeral and see Robin again. It was like all the years melted away. I hope to rekindle our friendship, for friendship is a precious thing.

One thought on “Throwback Thursday – Friendship

  1. Pingback: Friendships | Writing & Random Thoughts

Leave a Reply

