Thoughts on Pilgrim’s Progress, Part the Second – #11 – The sun, moon, and stars, oh my!

Image

photo credit annkkml

Pilgrim’s Progress was written by John Bunyan in the 1600s while he was in prison for his faith. 

Have you ever been having a really bad day, when something unexpected happened that lifted your spirits? It can be a little thing, like a hug from a child. Or a big thing, like a check in the mail just when you needed it.

I like the way Mr. Feeble-mind puts it, when talking to the Innkeeper about his hospitality,

“This is an unexpected favor, and as the sun shining out of a very dark cloud.”

I love when God shows mercy on me and sends me an unexpected blessing. One way He blesses me is with Christian fellowship. In the story, Honest is discussing this very thing when he says,

“For the sight of good men to them that are going on Pilgrimage, is like to the appearing of the moon and stars to them that are sailing upon the seas.”

I thank God today for the sun and moon and stars in my life!

Leave a Reply

