Pay College Football Players? Say What?

Image

I like a good college football game. I watch Georgia play with my mother, who is a huge fan.

But, I despise pro football. Okay – I said it. It’s out there.

I just read a letter from the editorial page of my local newspaper. The writer was advocating for pay for college players. To me it is just typical of the backward thinking of the entertainment-driven society of the US.

The following are some of the statements made and my rebuttals.

  1. Football is a tough sport to play.

Response: Motherhood is even tougher. Obviously the letter was written by a man.

   2.   … spend three hours a day getting into shape.

Response: And we should PAY them for this? 

   3. Don’t forget the film study

Response: ditto the last response

   4. The argument that the players receive a free education is ridiculous

Response: collegedata.com says “In its most recent survey of college pricing, the College Board reports that a “moderate” college budget for an in-state public college for the 2012–2013 academic year averaged $22,261” If a student was in school 12 months a year, that would be $1855 a month. The writer thinks they should get a $1000 a month stipend on top of this.

  5. Coaches are getting paid off the backs of the kids they coach…

Response: And?  

   6. If everyone could do it at a high level, then it wouldn’t be that special and people would not pay stupid amounts for the entertainment.

Response: Stupid amounts = stupid is as stupid does.

Okay, I’ll step off my soapbox now.

 

 

Leave a Reply

