Government Shut Down Reaches Far and Wide

I can’t say I understand anything about what goes on in our government these days. It’s like smoke and mirrors. I do understand, though, when it hurts my neighbors.

I saw my next door neighbor furloughed this summer. His wife is very thrifty and I have dubbed him “Cash n Cary” because of his skill in buying and selling canoes and kayaks on craigslist. They figured out how to get by, and now this shutdown is hitting them again.

Then today, the family owned company I work for part-time received an email from the USDA. It stated they could not pay their bill right now because of the shutdown. That is a bill that’s almost $20,000. It’s like, “Oops, sorry, fresh out of money for now.”

I know government has a purpose. But, I think they have lost sight of what that purpose is.

 

 “Render therefore to Caesar the things that are Caesar’s, and to God the things that are God’s.” – Matthew 22:21

 (previously published on Bubblews)

Leave a Reply

