Throwback Thursday – 70s Magic

Image

Me with my two brothers, all in bell-bottoms.

When Disney World opened in 1971, it was the place to go and take the relatives that came to Florida to visit us. Being just two hours away, we would go and come home the same day. We went quite a few times in the early 70s.

I had lots of fun with my brothers and cousins during those years. Yes, it was crowded but that doesn’t matter to a kid. It was just magical being there. Space Mountain, the Hall of Presidents, the Haunted Mansion, all the oldies but goodies.

Then, in my senior year of high school I experienced the magic of Grad Nite. This after-hours event for high school seniors was wonderful. There was actually a dress code! Girls could wear dresses or pantsuits the year I went. I’m sure that changed over the years. But, in 1976, I was able to see and dance along to KC and the Sunshine Band, as well Natalie Cole, Ohio Players and Harold Melvin & The Blue Notes.

I haven’t been to Disney for a while. It’s just not the same as an adult. Well, okay, I know some “adults” who go all the time, but that’s using the term lightly.  I’m not talking about parents taking kids. I’m talking adults going sans kids, some even sans a friend. I can’t think of anything more depressing than being at Disney alone.

For the record, I DO hope one day to experience the magic again – though the eyes of my grandkids. I will gladly listen to “It’s A Small World After All” 49 times if I have to.  Can you say “bippity boppity boo”?

Leave a Reply

