Thoughts on The Pilgrim’s Progress #4

Imagephoto credit – anankkml

Pilgrim’s Progress was written by John Bunyan in the 1600s while he was in prison for his faith.

After the end of part one, there is a poem called “The Conclusion”. These four lines are part of the last stanza:

What of my dross thou findest here, be bold

To throw away, but yet preserve the Gold.

What if my Gold be wrapped up in ore?

None throws away the Apple for the Core.

I think what Bunyan is saying here is that if the reader finds something in his writings that are not correct, to not use that as a reason to throw out all he has written. He is admitting that he could be in error somewhere, but pleads for readers not to throw out the truth of scripture found in his writings. It’s like “Don’t throw out the baby with the bath water.”

I ask the same. I am so very far from knowing all the truths in scripture. But, please don’t throw out my writings. If you find me in error, tell me. Send me scriptures to read. Share with me your insight. And, please, don’t throw out the baby and keep the bath water!

Leave a Reply

