It’s a Puzzle

ImagePic-89Studio

Today I learned about a town that has a population smaller than my kid’s high schools were. This town was purchasing something for the police department. I will change the name of the town, so let’s call it Puzzle, U.S.A.

In 2012, there were 1,297 people living in Puzzle which covers an area of 3.3 square miles. There are three gas stations, a bank, restaurant, a mini grocery store, and a police department. There is even a Beauty Barn. Would you get your hair done in a barn? Sorry, I digressed.

On the Fourth of July they have a “Miss Puzzle” pageant. I wonder if the contestants get their hair done at the barn? Oops, there I go again.

Most of the citizens commute to work, shop, and go to school. The crime rate is lower than the state where it is located and lower than the US average. The median income is lower, also, than the state’s and much lower than the country’s. So, what does all this mean? What can we learn about a “poor” community with a low crime rate?

I’ll just throw out this other fact for you to ponder. In this little town there are seven churches. Yes, seven. I don’t know anything more than the names of these churches. I don’t know how many of Puzzle’s citizens go to church. And, I know having a church on every corner can mean something or nothing. But I think somewhere in all this there is a connection.  I see a road trip in my future.

Leave a Reply

