Religious?

Image   I took a “Social Attitude Test”   online today. Not sure what to think of myself. It says I am a tender-hearted  moderate conservative. It also says this is the profile one might associate with a sincere clergyman! I am “Trusting of religion and have a compassionately humanistic attitude toward humanity in general”. Hmm.

I’m also said to be economically right-wing. And politically I’m an idealist with few strong opinions.

So, what in the world does this gobbledy-gook mean? I like the part about being tender-hearted. That’s a nice way to think about myself.  I’m no clergyman, but I hope I AM sincere.

 It’s the trusting of religion part that bothers me. If I go by most of the world’s thoughts on religion, that could mean a lot of things. I don’t want to be religious in the Webster’s dictionary sort of way which says “relating to or manifesting faithful devotion to an acknowledged ultimate reality or deity”. God is so much more than an ultimate reality.

But, the Bible does give us a definition of religion in James 1:27:

Religion that is pure and undefiled before God, the Father, is this: to visit orphans and widows in their affliction, and to keep oneself unstained from the world.

So, if someone calls me religious, I would hope it is for this reason. I am a Christian, and this is the kind of religious I want to be. 

(Ilustration “Love” by graur razvan ionut)

2 thoughts on “Religious?

  1. Great post! That word ‘religious’ is such a buzz word and has evolved to a totally different meaning! I want to be ‘religious’, too – if that is what they mean! Looking forward to following you!

Leave a Reply

