Marriage Musings

Image

 

Today I was looking for a quote to include on a card for a wedding shower tomorrow. I found a few gems that I’d like to share.

This is the one I used: 

  “A happy marriage is the union of two good forgivers.” This was from Ruth Bell Graham who was the wife of Billy Graham. I can relate to this so well. I have needed a lot of forgiving over the years. Plus, I like her name since mine is the opposite – Graham Bell! 

Here are some more:

 “Enjoy the little things in life… For one day you’ll look back and realize they were the big things.” – Kurt Vonnegut.  This goes along with my blog from yesterday.

“I got gaps; you got gaps; we fill each other’s gaps.” – Rocky Balboa. This was probably the only intelligent thing he ever said –lol! I love it because I can really apply it. My husband has always been more cautious or alert about potentially dangerous things or situations, whereas I have been either naive or a bit too free. We certainly balance each other out in a lot of ways.

“They say it takes a village to raise a child. That may be the case, but the truth is that it takes a lot of solid, stable marriages to create a village.” Diane Sollee. I love this one and can’t really add more.

“To keep the fire burning brightly, there’s one easy rule: keep the two logs together, near enough to keep each other warm and far enough apart — about a finger’s breadth — for breathing room. Good fire, good marriage, same rule.” – Mamie Reed Crowell.  I really like this analogy. That breathing room part is so important. About a finger’s breadth.

   Chains do not hold a marriage together. It is threads, hundreds of tiny threads which sew people together through the years.”  – Simone Signoret   This is so beautiful!

Challenge for today: Keep sewing together with those hundreds of tiny threads.

2 thoughts on “Marriage Musings

  1. Thanks for the encouragement! I am always looking for bits of truth to strengthen my marriage. I so want to be intentional about being a good wife…and I know I’ve been slacking! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

