Loss

Everyone at Rizzoli & Isles is devastated by the news of the passing of Lee Thompson Young. We are beyond heartbroken at the loss of this sweet, gentle, good-hearted, intelligent man. He was truly a member of our family. Lee will be cherished and remembered by all who knew and loved him, both on- and off-screen, for his positive energy, infectious smile and soulful grace. We send our deepest condolences and thoughts to his family, to his friends and, most especially, to his beloved mother.

As I read last night of the death of Lee Thompson Young, I was saddened. It’s not like I knew him or anything. I only knew him as two characters he played: Jett Jackson and Detective Barry Frost. Yet, memories of watching his Jett Jackson show with my youngest daughter flooded over me.

I don’t know anything about his personal life. This got me thinking, how much do I know about anyone’s personal life? The kid who seems like nothing but a trouble maker – what does he have to deal with day in and day out? The girl covering herself with tattoos – what is she trying to cover up? The cashier at Publix who is always friendly – does she have an easy life? Do any of these know the LORD?

My writer friend/acquaintance, Karen Spears Zacharias, had this to say this morning.:

They walk among us, the despairing do.

Some are quiet, unassuming, gentle souls.

Others are the life of the party, seemingly joyful, radiant even.

Yet, somewhere, just beyond the place where hope whispers their name, there is a darkness, unrecognizable.

Until, too often, it’s too late.

They walk among us, the despairing do.

Laughing, loving, and longing for more of God

and less of the demons that know them by name, too.

My prayer today is that I would we more aware of those around me. That God would teach me more about being a servant.

Image

Leave a Reply

